## Appendix 1

# Principal Attendees, Conference on Inter-American Relations in the Field of Music

18-19 October 1939

Whittall Pavilion, Library of Congress

Sponsored by the Division of Cultural Relations

#### Libraries

Archibald MacLeish. Librarian of Congress; Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Harold Spivacke. Chief, Music Division, Library of Congress

Robert Winslow Gordon. Representing the Archive of American Folk Song, Library of Congress

Carleton Sprague Smith. Chief, Music Division, New York Public Library; musicologist

#### Government

Adolf A. Berle. U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for Latin American Affairs, U.S. State Department

Ben Cherrington. Professor, University of Colorado; chief, Division of Cultural Relations, U.S. State Department

Laurence Duggan. Chief, Latin American Division, U.S. State Department Richard Pattee. Division of the American Republics, U.S. State Department Charles A. Thomson. Division of Cultural Relations, U.S. State Department

Nina Perera Collier. Division of Cultural Relations, U.S. State Department

Leo S. Rowe. Director General, Pan American Union

Concha Romero James. Chief, Division of Intellectual Cooperation, Pan American Union

Earl Vincent Moore. National Director and consultant, Federal Music Project, Works Progress Administration

Charles Seeger. Director, Music Program, Works Progress Administration

Horace Johnson. Director, Music Program, New York City Works Progress Administration

#### Education

Matthew Bartholomew. Director, Yale Glee Club, Yale University

William Berrien. Department of Romance Languages, Northwestern University; adviser on Latin American Studies to the American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS)

George Herzog. Ethnomusicologist, Columbia University

Willem van de Wall. Professor, music education and music therapy, University of Kentucky

Howard Hanson. Director, Eastman School of Music, University of Rochester; composer

Adam P. Lesinsky. President, National School Orchestra Association

Irma LaBastille. Faculty, New Jersey State Teachers College

Marion Flagg. Music teacher, the Horace Mann School (New York City)

Helen Harrison Mills. National Federation of Music Clubs

Mrs. Vincent Hilles Ober. National Federation of Music Clubs

Edward Hughes. Head, Music Teachers National Association (represented by a Mrs. Roberts)

#### Media

Davidson Taylor. Columbia Broadcasting Service (CBS)

Philip L. Barbour. Chief of Foreign Press and Station Relations, International Division of the National Broadcasting Company (NBC)

Dorothy Gordon. Consultant and host, National Broadcasting Company (NBC)

Glenn Dillard Dunn. Music editor, Washington Times-Herald

Alice Evermann. Music editor, Washington Star

Irene A. Wright. Journalist, author

### Scholarship, Composition, Performance

Francisco Curt Lange. Musicologist; Director, Instituto Interamericano de Musicología, Montevideo

Roy Harris. Composer

John J. Becker. Composer; editor, New Music Quarterly

Lazare Saminsky. Conductor, author, composer

Nicolas Slonimsky. Conductor, author, composer

George Hoyen. Conductor

Jorge Castañeda. Composer; conductor, Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional of Guatemala

Burle Marx. Composer, conductor

Lillian Evanti. Opera singer, composer

William L. Dawson. Composer, conductor, Tuskegee Institute (now Tuskegee University, Alabama)

R. Nathaniel Dett. Composer, Bennett College (North Carolina)

#### Other

Irene Lewisohn. President, Museum of Costume Art, New York City

Carl Engel. President, G. Schirmer Inc. (music publisher)

John G. Paine. General manager, American Society of Composers and Publishers (ASCAP)

Evans Clark. Executive director, Twentieth Century Fund (now the Twentieth Century Foundation), author

Charles O'Connell. Head, artist and repertory department, RCA Victor Red Seal Label